Technical Advisory Board


Advisor_ChallenBernard J. Challen is a Chartered Engineer in England. As former Technical Director with Ricardo Consulting Engineers in the U.K., he was responsible for developing noise, vibration and harshness (NVH), electronic controls activities, and for establishing Ricardo’s North American business operation in 1990. During his 21-year career with Ricardo, he also began the company’s engine and vehicle noise and vibration reduction services, working with clients around the world. Challen is a Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor in Principles of Engineering Design at the University of Sussex, England.

A member of SAE International for more than 18 years, Challen has helped organize many conferences, chairing the Noise & Vibration Conference committee and organizing a Powertrain Electronic Controls session at the SAE World Congress. He also has co-authored more than a dozen SAE International technical papers and edited the second edition of the Diesel Engine Reference book. Elected an SAE Fellow in 1997, he also has received three SAE Forest McFarland Awards and the SAE 2008 Medal of Honor.



Advisor_LeteinturierPatrick Leteinturier has 25 years of experience in automotive electronics. He started his career working at Lucas (UK) and SAGEM (France) developing powertrain electronic systems for PSA and Renault. Since 1997 he has worked at Infineon Technologies AG (Germany). He is currently Fellow responsible for system architecture of silicon products (silicon sensors, microcontrollers, silicon smart powers, and power modules) for Engine, Transmission and xEV applications.

A member of SAE International since 1998, Mr. Leteinturier received the SAE International Forest R. McFarland Award (2008). In 2010, he was named an SAE International Fellow. Mr. Leteinturier is currently SAE director and member of the Engineering Meeting Board. In addition, Mr. Leteinturier is Guest Professor at Tianjin University in China (since 2006).

Mr. Leteinturier received his Mechanical Engineering degree from ENSAM: Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Arts et Métiers (France) in 1987, his Master of Advanced Studies in Internal Combustion Engines (DEA) at the University Paris 6 (France), and his Electric & Electronic Engineering degree from ESE: Ecole Supérieure d’Electricité (France) in 1990.


Advisor_LoweryAndrew D. Lowery has 12 years of experience in electronic and controls systems and applications. During his career he has participated in research in the areas of design and controls, sensing and power equipment, antennas and electromagnetics, and engineering education, resulting in peer reviewed publications, including twelve conference proceedings and eight journal or bound papers. Lowery is a Visiting Scholar and Adjunct Professor and Visiting Scholar in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources at West Virginia University.

As a member of Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) since 2001, Dr. Lowery is active in the Pittsburgh section serving as the Treasurer (2015), Vice Chair (2016), and Chair (2017) to its 2500 members. He is also a member of the Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, and The Society of Automotive Engineers.

Lowery has received degrees of Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering (2012), Masters of Science in Mechanical Engineering (2006) and dual Bachelors of Science degrees in Computer and Electrical Engineering (2004) from the College of Engineering and Mineral Resources at West Virginia University.

Currently, Dr. Lowery is the Lead Scientist and Chief Technology Officer of Plasma Igniter, LLC


Advisor_RyanThomas W. Ryan III retired in 2010 after 32 years as an Institute engineer at Southwest Research Institute. During his career, he specialized in engines, fuels and combustion technology. He has performed basic and applied combustion research, working with experimental combustion processes and applying sophisticated diagnostics to internal combustion engine systems. Much of his work has involved diagnostic techniques for real and simulated combustion environments.

Dr. Ryan served as President of SAE International in 2008. He presented his first paper at the 1974 SAE World Congress. He has served as chair of the SAE Land and Sea Group and the Technical Quality Response Team. He also has served on the Fellows Selection Committee and the Member Service Committee. He was an SAE Board of Directors member from 2005 to 2010. Ryan was named a Fellow for technical accomplishment, and he has received two McFarland Awards for service to SAE as well as two Withrow Awards for oral presentation. He is currently the Editor in Chief of the SAE Journal of Engines, and serves as a Trustee of the SAE retirement plan.

Dr. Ryan received his bachelor’s degree in marine engineering from the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and his master’s and doctorate degrees in mechanical engineering from Pennsylvania State University. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 technical papers and has acquired twelve patents in the areas of engines, fuels and combustion research.

In addition to SAE, Dr. Ryan has served as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers associate editor of the Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power, associate editor of the International Journal of Engine Research, co-chair of the semi-annual conference on “Present and Future Engines for Automobiles,” and as a member of the Advisory and Scientific Committee for THIESEL International Conferences on Thermo and Fluid Dynamic Processes in Diesel Engines.

Dr. Ryan is currently the President of T Ryan Consultants, LLC consulting in the areas of engines, fuels, lubricants and combustion.


Advisor_ThompsonGreg J. Thompson performs research ranging from internal combustion engine design, control, and emissions measurements to development of an rf plasma ignition system to antenna design.  He is active in the development of the in-use emission measurements from on and off-road heavy-duty vehicles and in the development of alternative fuels for heavy-duty vehicles.

Dr. Thompson currently oversees the Engine and Emission Research Laboratory at the National Research Center for Alternative Fuels, Engines, and Emissions.





Roy Nutter is a full Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering at West Virginia University. Professor Nutter currently leads a research group in digital forensics and cyber defense as a principal in the West Virginia Cyber Crime Consortium. In addition to his many rolls in instruction and research, he has served WVU as a Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Chair, Chair and member of the WVU Faculty Senate, member of the WVU Board of Governors, Chair of the West Virginia Advisory Council of Faculty, and many other committees and task forces. He is also a member and past Secretary for the Board of Directors of the National Cyber Forensics Training Alliance, NCFTA. Previous to WVU, he was a Project Engineer for NCR’s Accounting Computer Division. In addition, he is a registered Professional Engineer and does consulting within his broad knowledge and experience. Professor Nutter has expertise in a variety of areas including electronics, embedded computers in underground mining, electric vehicles, and digital forensics. In addition, Professor Nutter holds eleven patents in multiple areas of engineering.